The Violin Player

The Violin Player was the first techno/pop album by classical and pop musician Vanessa-Mae, released in 1995 (see 1995 in music). It is also the first album Vanessa-Mae released on the EMI label. The Album was produced by Mike Batt, and recorded and mixed by Gareth Cousins, who also programmed the synthesisers and beats for the album.

The Violin Player has a varied blend of music – covers of some classical (J.S. Bach's Toccata and Fugue in D minor), remakes of old favourites (including American composer Mason Williams' "Classical Gas") and originals (seven tracks composed by British musician and songwriter Mike Batt), and one original by Vanessa-Mae herself, co-written with Ian Wherry ("Red Hot").

The Violin Player reached #11 in the UK Albums Chart in February 1995, and was certified Gold by the BPI in June 1995. It has sold over 8 million copies worldwide, and is still regarded by many as Vanessa-Mae's best work. The album has been reissued as a multi-channel hybrid SACD by EMI Music Hong Kong.Professional ratings

Track listing

All songs written and composed by Mike Batt, except noted. No. Title Length
1. "Toccata and Fugue in D Minor" (Johann Sebastian Bach) 7:47
2. "Contradanza" 3:49
3. "Classical Gas" (Mason Williams) 3:21
4. "Theme from 'Caravans'" 5:06
5. "Warm Air" 3:38
6. "Jazz Will Eat Itself" 3:30
7. "Widescreen" 3:58
8. "Tequila Mockingbird" 3:26
9. "City Theme" 4:32
10. "Red Hot" (Ian Wherry and Vanessa-Mae) 3:16
Total length: 46:31